The New Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law

driver with phone in hand

The New Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law

What You Should Know About the Latest Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law

 

Whether you live, work, or play in Massachusetts, there are many things you should know about the state. As a motorist, it’s important that you keep on top of the latest rules and regulations to stay legal on the roads and avoid steep penalties. The latest auto news involves updated restrictions about hands-free driving. To ensure your safety and compliance, here’s what you should know about the new Massachusetts hands-free driving law.

 

Restrictions

 

In Massachusetts, texting while driving has already been outlawed, but using phones to make calls was previously allowed. Under this new law, you can still make phone calls, but you cannot physically hold your phone in your hand while behind the wheel. To make a call, you must use your phone hands-free by either connecting a headset, activating the speaker or connecting to your vehicle’s Bluetooth. This law applies even when your car is stationary at a stoplight.

 

Penalties

 

Using phones behind the wheel can be exceptionally dangerous, and usually comes with strict enforcement guidelines and harsh penalties. Using a phone while driving can result in a $100 fine for the first offense, $250 for the second offense, and $500 for the third. The law also requires repeat offenders to take a safety course to better understand the risks of using a phone while driving.

 

Effective Dates

 

The Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law went into effect on February 23, 2020. To help educate motorists to this new law, there is a grace period through March 31st where only warnings will be issued. Starting April 1, 2020, full tickets will be given to anyone who breaks the law.

 

Why Now?

This law has been in the works for a while. In the past, Governor Baker was hesitant to sign proposed bills for hands-free driving because it might disadvantage lower-income drivers who are unable to afford Bluetooth devices. However, the rising number of auto incidents involving phones became a major factor in pushing this law through. Hopefully, this law will reduce accidents and keep us all safer on the roads.

 

One thing you shouldn’t have to worry about when driving is your auto insurance policy. At CAV Insurance in Wellesley, MA we have a variety of markets to fit you and your vehicle needs. Whether you take it out for a Sunday drive through Dover and Sherborn or you enter your car in a show at Larz Anderson in Brookline, we will set you up with a policy that fits your needs. Contact us today to get started.

COVID19 Notice:

While our office is closed to the public, we are fully operational working remotely. Please call our office for assistance at 781.237.4107 or email us at clientservices@cavinsurance.com We are here to assist you during these trying times. Thank you and stay safe.